Amazon AWS Butts County data center
Butts County, GADeveloper: Amazon Web ServicesCensus GEOID 13035
- Stage
- Proposed
- Undisclosed in public filings
- Power, Land, Buildings
Amazon Web Services plans to spend at least $11 billion on new data center capacity in Butts County (and Douglas County) in metro Atlanta. It is reported; the record holds no sourced date for when it reached that stage.
How much power it needs and who would use it have not been disclosed.
How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.
What is known
Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.
- Water
- 4,540,000 gallons a day the developer's figure Not compared: the source did not say whether the figure is withdrawal or consumptive use.
- [1] ajc.com
- Who leads it
- Amazon Web Services as stated by the source
- Undisclosed in public filings
- Land, Buildings, Power it would draw, Who would use it, Jobs once it runs, Tax each year
Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)
Impact figures
| Field | Value | Who says so | Source | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| How much power it needs | ||||
| How much water it would use | 4,540,000 gallons a day | the developer's figure | [1] ajc.com (opens in a new tab) | October 21, 2026 |
| How loud it would be | ||||
| Jobs once it runs | ||||
| Tax it would pay each year |
The record's fields
| Field | Value | Who says so | Source | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Who is building it | Amazon Web Services | as stated by the source | October 21, 2026 | |
| Who is constructing it | ||||
| How much land | ||||
| Buildings | ||||
| Where its power comes from | ||||
| Grid connection | ||||
| How it is cooled |
A blank value cell means not disclosed by any source on file; a blank basis cell means the source gave the figure without saying on what basis.
The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.
Still not public, and where it would show up
The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.
- Who would use it A lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
- Power the campus would draw A utility or public service commission docket, an interconnection filing, or an air permit for an on site plant.
- Jobs and tax An incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.
What happened
No dated entry is on the record yet.
The site
No location is on file for this record, so it has no pin on any map. It is placed in Butts County, by name only.
Keep going
Questions about this project
4 questions answered from the record
Who is building Amazon AWS Butts County data center?
-
Amazon Web Services is the developer. No construction contractor is named on the record yet.
How much power and water does Amazon AWS Butts County data center say it needs?
-
Power: not disclosed by any source on file. Water: 4,540,000 gallons a day (the developer's figure, ajc.com (opens in a new tab)).
Where does Amazon AWS Butts County data center stand today?
-
It is reported; the date it reached that stage is not sourced, only the day a page was read. No dated entry is on the record yet.
What has Butts County decided about it?
-
No decision by Butts County about data centers is on the record. The Butts County page and the Georgia scorecard list every rated row the day a person publishes one.
Sources
Reporting
- Amazon plans $11 billion data center expansion in Georgia - AJC.com (opens in a new tab), AJC.com, January 8, 2025, query feed
- Amazon plans $11 billion data center expansion in Georgia - The Atlanta Journal-Constitution (opens in a new tab), The Atlanta Journal-Constitution, January 8, 2025, query feed
2 sources on file.
About this data
Last verified and first recorded . Every correction is logged on the corrections page. Report a correction · Send a tip about Amazon AWS Butts County data center
Cite this page
Data Center Record, "Amazon AWS Butts County data center", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/amazon-aws-butts-county-data-center-ga. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY-NC 4.0.
The structured rows are CC BY-NC 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.
For researchers
- Stage
- Proposed
- Tier
- built from one source
- Tags
- Built from one source
- How water was disclosed
- the developer's figure
- Published
- October 21, 2026
- Last verified
- October 21, 2026
- Undisclosed in public filings
- Coordinates, How the location is known, Location source, Coordinate source, Location source number, Location last verified, EPA registry id, Uses, Tenancy, Cooling, How capacity was disclosed, How acreage was disclosed, Interconnection, Capacity, if disclosed, Rating of the county's rows