Data Center Record.

Reported Built from one source

Terra Energy Center Corporation Coal Plant / Data Center Campus

TECC proposes a 1.25 GW coal fired power plant on approximately 1,000 acres near Lake Lorraine at Point MacKenzie to serve large power consumers including data centers, with Mat Su Borough Assembly authorizing a two year joint marketing partnership with TECC. It is reported; the record holds no sourced date for when it reached that stage.

How much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.

Last verified · 4 sources, 0 primary · A skeleton record: built from one source, not yet reviewed in depth by a person. · How to read this page

How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.

What is known

Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.

Land
Not disclosed
Power it would draw
1.25 GW
not disclosed
Water
Not disclosed
Who leads it
Terra Energy Center Corporation (TECC) / Flatlands Energy / Alaska Asia Clean Energy Corporation
as stated by the source
Who would use it
Not disclosed
Jobs once it runs
Not disclosed
Tax each year
Not disclosed
Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)

Impact figures

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
How much power it needs 1.25 GW not disclosed September 17, 2026
How much water it would use Not disclosed
How loud it would be Not disclosed
Jobs once it runs Not disclosed
Tax it would pay each year Not disclosed

The record's fields

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
Who is building it Terra Energy Center Corporation (TECC) / Flatlands Energy / Alaska Asia Clean Energy Corporation as stated by the source September 17, 2026
Who is constructing it Not disclosed
How much land Not disclosed
Where its power comes from Not disclosed
Grid connection Not disclosed
How it is cooled Not disclosed

The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.

Still not public, and where it would show up

The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.

  • Water useA state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
  • Who would use itA lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
  • Jobs and taxAn incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.

What happened

No dated entry is on the record yet.

3 corrections to this record

Every correction, with its reason
  1. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  2. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  3. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

Every correction on the record is on the corrections page.

The site

Where in Matanuska-Susitna County is not in the public record. The pin marks the county seat, not a building, and the outline is the county.

  • This record: Proposed, ringed
  • data center
  • Dashed edge: the exact site is not in the public record
  • Smaller pins: 4 other published records in Alaska
Details
  • this record's location, ringed
  • parcel outline, from the county parcel record
  • city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
  • county boundary

The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.

Where
Skwentna, Matanuska-Susitna County, Alaska
How exactly it is located
County level, the county seat
The parcel
No parcel outline in the public record
Nearest homes
Not computed for a record placed at a place center
Nearest records
Nearest records are not computed for a record placed at a county seat.

Questions about this project

5 questions answered from the record

Answered from the rows on this page.

How big is Terra Energy Center Corporation Coal Plant / Data Center Campus?

The record has one measure of its size: 1.25 GW (not disclosed). Its acreage is not disclosed.

Who is building Terra Energy Center Corporation Coal Plant / Data Center Campus?

Terra Energy Center Corporation (TECC) / Flatlands Energy / Alaska Asia Clean Energy Corporation is the developer. No construction contractor is named on the record yet.

How much power and water does Terra Energy Center Corporation Coal Plant / Data Center Campus say it needs?

Power: 1.25 GW (not disclosed). Water: not disclosed by any source on file.

Where does Terra Energy Center Corporation Coal Plant / Data Center Campus stand today?

It is reported; the date it reached that stage is not sourced, only the day a page was read. No dated entry is on the record yet.

What has Skwentna or Matanuska-Susitna County decided about it?

No decision by Skwentna or Matanuska-Susitna County about data centers is on the record. The Matanuska-Susitna County page and the Alaska scorecard list every rated row the day a person publishes one.

Sources

Primary documents first: filings, minutes, dockets and official pages. Then reporting. The numbers are the ones the entries above cite.

Reporting

  1. The first US coal plant in a decade is on shaky ground, www.eenews.net, March 20, 2026, local outlet
  2. Mat-Su Borough Partners with Coal Plant Developer Seeking Data Center Options - Alaska Business Magazine, Alaska Business Magazine, April 15, 2026, local outlet
  3. Anchorage Assembly preemptively adopts data center regulations - Anchorage Daily News, Anchorage Daily News, March 27, 2026, local outlet
  4. Editorial: Alaska can lead in AI and data centers — but only if it gets serious now - Anchorage Daily News, Anchorage Daily News, April 4, 2026, local outlet

4 sources on file.

Cite this record

Data Center Record, "Terra Energy Center Corporation Coal Plant / Data Center Campus", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/terra-energy-center-corporation-coal-plant-data-center-campus-skwentna-ak, last verified September 17, 2026.

Last verified , first recorded . Every correction is logged on the corrections page and under What happened.

Cite this page

Data Center Record, "Terra Energy Center Corporation Coal Plant / Data Center Campus", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/terra-energy-center-corporation-coal-plant-data-center-campus-skwentna-ak. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY 4.0.

The structured rows are CC BY 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.

Report a change
For researchers
Slug
terra-energy-center-corporation-coal-plant-data-center-campus-skwentna-ak
Status value
rumored
Stage
Proposed
Tier
skeleton
Tags
skeleton
Place id
us/ak/matanuska-susitna-county/skwentna
Coordinates
61.60194, -149.11722
Location precision
county
Location source
County seat (Palmer), Wikidata, placed at county level
Coordinate source
wikidata county seat
Location source number
Not disclosed
Location last verified
September 16, 2026
EPA registry id
Not disclosed
Use type values
not_disclosed
Tenancy value
not_disclosed
Cooling type value
not_disclosed
Capacity basis
not_disclosed
Water basis
not_disclosed, gallons_per_day
Acreage basis
Not disclosed
Interconnection value
not_disclosed
Capacity, if disclosed
1.25 GW, not disclosed
Rating of the county's rows
Not disclosed
Published
2026-09-05
Last verified
2026-09-17