Sault Ste. Marie Data Centre
A plan for a 400 MW AI data centre in Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario was proposed and met with community opposition. It is reported, as reported August 27, 2026.
How much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.
How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.
What is known
Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.
- Land
- Not disclosed
- Power it would draw
- 400 MW
- not disclosed
- Water
- Not disclosed
- Who leads it
- Not disclosed
- Who would use it
- Not disclosed
- Jobs once it runs
- Not disclosed
- Tax each year
- Not disclosed
Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)
Impact figures
| Field | Value | Who says so | Source | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| How much power it needs | 400 MW | not disclosed | October 7, 2026 | |
| How much water it would use | Not disclosed | |||
| How loud it would be | Not disclosed | |||
| Jobs once it runs | Not disclosed | |||
| Tax it would pay each year | Not disclosed |
The record's fields
| Field | Value | Who says so | Source | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Who is building it | Not disclosed | |||
| Who is constructing it | Not disclosed | |||
| How much land | Not disclosed | |||
| Where its power comes from | Not disclosed | |||
| Grid connection | Not disclosed | |||
| How it is cooled | Not disclosed |
The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.
Still not public, and where it would show up
The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.
- Water useA state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
- Who would use itA lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
- Who is behind itA land record, a zoning application or a company's own announcement.
- Jobs and taxAn incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.
The site
Where in Sault Ste. Marie is not in the public record. The pin marks the center of Sault Ste. Marie, not a building, and the outline is Algoma County.
Tap a pin for the data center, the parcel for its record
- This record: Proposed, ringed
- data center
- Dashed edge: the exact site is not in the public record
Details
- this record's location, ringed
- parcel outline, from the county parcel record
- city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
- county boundary
The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.
- Where
- Sault Ste. Marie, Algoma County, Ontario
- How exactly it is located
- Town level, the center of the city
- The parcel
- No parcel outline in the public record
- Nearest homes
- Not computed for a record placed at a place center
- Nearest records
- Nearest records are not computed for a record placed at the center of its town.
Questions about this project
5 questions answered from the record
How big is Sault Ste. Marie Data Centre?
-
The record has one measure of its size: 400 MW (not disclosed). Its acreage is not disclosed.
Who is building Sault Ste. Marie Data Centre?
-
Not disclosed. No source on file names the developer. The sources read for this record are listed under Sources.
How much power and water does Sault Ste. Marie Data Centre say it needs?
-
Power: 400 MW (not disclosed). Water: not disclosed by any source on file.
Where does Sault Ste. Marie Data Centre stand today?
-
It is reported, as reported August 27, 2026. The newest entry, reported August 27, 2026: The project is in very early stages and must clear several regulatory hurdles [2].
What has Sault Ste. Marie or Algoma County decided about it?
-
No decision by Sault Ste. Marie or Algoma County about data centers is on the record. The Ontario scorecard lists every rated row the day a person publishes one.
Sources
Reporting
- Data centre proposal in Sault Ste. Marie, Ont. met with opposition - CBC, CBC, July 31, 2026, local outlet
- Plan would see 400MW AI data centre built in the Sault - CTV News, CTV News, August 27, 2026, local outlet
2 sources on file.
Cite this record
Data Center Record, "Sault Ste. Marie Data Centre", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/sault-ste-marie-data-centre-on, last verified October 7, 2026.
Cite this page
Data Center Record, "Sault Ste. Marie Data Centre", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/sault-ste-marie-data-centre-on. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY 4.0.
The structured rows are CC BY 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.
For researchers
- Slug
- sault-ste-marie-data-centre-on
- Status value
- rumored
- Stage
- Proposed
- Tier
- skeleton
- Tags
- skeleton
- Place id
- ca/on/algoma-county/sault-ste-marie
- Coordinates
- 46.53893, -84.39943
- Location precision
- city
- Location source
- Place center (Sault Ste. Marie), placed at city level: centroid of the city's boundary in the Canadian Geographical Names Database (Natural Resources Canada, Open Government Licence)
- Coordinate source
- cgndb centroid
- Location source number
- Not disclosed
- Location last verified
- October 7, 2026
- EPA registry id
- Not disclosed
- Use type values
- not_disclosed
- Tenancy value
- not_disclosed
- Cooling type value
- not_disclosed
- Capacity basis
- not_disclosed
- Water basis
- not_disclosed, gallons_per_day
- Acreage basis
- Not disclosed
- Interconnection value
- not_disclosed
- Capacity, if disclosed
- 400 MW, not disclosed
- Rating of the county's rows
- Not disclosed
- Published
- 2026-09-05
- Last verified
- 2026-10-07