Data Center Record.

Reported Built from one source

Frederick County Data Center Expansion

A Frederick County data center expansion is the subject of a referendum challenge that was shut down by the Maryland Supreme Court, with residents expressing concern about the county becoming a new data center hub. It is reported; the record holds no sourced date for when it reached that stage.

How much power it needs, how much water it would use and who would use it have not been disclosed.

Last verified · 5 sources, 0 primary · A skeleton record: built from one source, not yet reviewed in depth by a person. · How to read this page

How to read this page. Every fact links to the source it rests on; a number in brackets is its place in the source list. A figure no source gives reads Not disclosed, and nothing is estimated. Where sources give different figures, each is shown with who gave it, and another source's figure never stands in for the record's own. Entries are added and never overwritten; corrections are listed under What happened.

What is known

Each figure as its source gave it. The number in brackets is its place in the source list.

Land
Not disclosed
Power it would draw
Not disclosed
Water
Not disclosed
Who leads it
Not disclosed
Who would use it
Not disclosed
Jobs once it runs
Not disclosed
Tax each year
Not disclosed
Every field, with who said it and when (Researcher view)

Impact figures

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
How much power it needs Not disclosed
How much water it would use Not disclosed
How loud it would be Not disclosed
Jobs once it runs Not disclosed
Tax it would pay each year Not disclosed

The record's fields

FieldValueWho says soSourceLast verified
Who is building it Not disclosed
Who is constructing it Not disclosed
How much land Not disclosed
Where its power comes from Not disclosed
Grid connection Not disclosed
How it is cooled Not disclosed

The developer's figure is what the company said; what a permit allows is the ceiling a permit sets; measured means observed. Water is in gallons a day or a year, whichever the source stated; a tax claim given as a range shows both ends, each linked to the source that gave it.

Still not public, and where it would show up

The record adds each the day a source gives it. Why these documents.

  • Water useA state water right filing or a water supply agreement.
  • Who would use itA lease announcement or a tenant named in a filing.
  • Power the campus would drawA utility or public service commission docket, an interconnection filing, or an air permit for an on site plant.
  • Who is behind itA land record, a zoning application or a company's own announcement.
  • Jobs and taxAn incentive agreement, a county's economic development filing or a fiscal note.

What was decided

Acts of Frederick County and the cities in it about data centers, on the record with their source. A rule about the area is not a decision about this record.

DateWhoDecisionSource
Frederick County Frederick County has a temporary pause on new data center applications through December 31, 2026 wfmd.com
Frederick County Catellus would provide 433 acres as a nature reserve wfmd.com
Frederick County Catellus would cut potable water use by 80 percent wfmd.com
Frederick County Catellus would reduce planned data center development by nearly 20 percent wfmd.com
Frederick County Frederick County Planning Commission scheduled public hearings for two conditional use permit applications for data center campuses, including one for a 71.85 acre facility. facebook.com
Frederick County Frederick County Planning Commission unanimously recommended denial of a conditional use permit for Winchester Gateway, a nearly 72 acre data center campus in the Kernstown area. facebook.com
3 earlier decisions on the county's rows
DateWhoDecisionSource
Frederick County Frederick County Council voted to expand the data center zoning area surrounding Quantum Frederick to about 2,600 acres marylandmatters.org
Frederick County Frederick County Executive Jessica Fitzwater signed an order pausing new data center permitting until the end of the year marylandmatters.org
Frederick County Residents fear Frederick County will become the new data center alley cnsmaryland.org

What happened

No dated entry is on the record yet.

7 corrections to this record

Every correction, with its reason
  1. · the status of a projects row

    The stage was set by timeline entries that were returned to draft on 2026-09-17 (they had been published onto the record while it was still a draft skeleton). With no published entry behind it the record reads rumored until one is approved. The old and new text.

  2. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  3. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  4. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  5. · the kind of source of a history entry

    The source was labeled with the Google News search that found it; it now carries its outlet's tier (the record's rules of 2026-09-23). The link did not change. The day's label corrections.

  6. · the draft of a status history row

    Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.

  7. · the draft of a status history row

    Published on a project that was still a draft skeleton and still short of the record's skeleton minimum rule; returned to draft on 2026-09-17 pending the project meeting the rule or a person's approval. The old and new text.

Every correction on the record is on the corrections page.

What was said

Delegate April Fleming Miller's District 4 team sent a letter to the County Executive requesting an extension to the DRRA comment period for a data center agreement.
April Fleming Miller, Delegate (District 4) · September 11, 2026 · paraphrased · www.facebook.com local outlet
Louisa Conklin, Frederick County Council member, stated data center developers have legal avenues to protect themselves from council oversight and that water protection is a community priority.
Louisa Conklin, Frederick County Council member · September 10, 2026 · paraphrased · www.facebook.com local outlet

Every statement about data centers in Maryland, by speaker

The site

Where in Frederick County is not in the public record. The pin marks the county seat, not a building, and the outline is the county.

  • This record: Proposed, ringed
  • data center
  • Dashed edge: the exact site is not in the public record
  • Smaller pins: 9 other published records in Maryland
Details
  • this record's location, ringed
  • parcel outline, from the county parcel record
  • city limits, U.S. Census Bureau, on a town level record
  • county boundary

The other pins are the published projects in the same state, each in its stage color. The imagery beneath is the USGS national orthoimagery, public domain, shown so the land around the site can be read.

Where
Frederick County, Maryland
How exactly it is located
County level, the county seat
The parcel
No parcel outline in the public record
Nearest homes
Not computed for a record placed at a place center
Nearest records
Nearest records are not computed for a record placed at a county seat.

Questions about this project

4 questions answered from the record

Answered from the rows on this page.

Who is building Frederick County Data Center Expansion?

Not disclosed. No source on file names the developer. The sources read for this record are listed under Sources.

How much power and water does Frederick County Data Center Expansion say it needs?

Power: not disclosed by any source on file. Water: not disclosed by any source on file.

Where does Frederick County Data Center Expansion stand today?

It is reported; the date it reached that stage is not sourced, only the day a page was read. No dated entry is on the record yet.

What has Frederick County decided about it?

Frederick County: Frederick County has a temporary pause on new data center applications through December 31, 2026 (reported September 3, 2026, source); and Frederick County: Catellus would provide 433 acres as a nature reserve (reported September 3, 2026, source). 9 events are on the county's rows; a rule about the area is not a decision about this record.

Cite this record

Data Center Record, "Frederick County Data Center Expansion", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/frederick-county-data-center-expansion-md, last verified September 17, 2026.

Last verified , first recorded . Every correction is logged on the corrections page and under What happened.

Cite this page

Data Center Record, "Frederick County Data Center Expansion", https://datacenterrecord.org/projects/frederick-county-data-center-expansion-md. Data: Data Center Record, datacenterrecord.org, CC BY 4.0.

The structured rows are CC BY 4.0. Link to this page; that is what turns a reuse into a citation. Prose stays under copyright.

Report a change
For researchers
Slug
frederick-county-data-center-expansion-md
Status value
rumored
Stage
Proposed
Tier
skeleton
Tags
skeleton
Place id
us/md/frederick-county
Coordinates
39.42639, -77.42028
Location precision
county
Location source
County seat (Frederick), Wikidata, placed at county level
Coordinate source
wikidata county seat
Location source number
Not disclosed
Location last verified
September 16, 2026
EPA registry id
Not disclosed
Use type values
not_disclosed
Tenancy value
not_disclosed
Cooling type value
not_disclosed
Capacity basis
not_disclosed
Water basis
not_disclosed, gallons_per_day
Acreage basis
Not disclosed
Interconnection value
not_disclosed
Capacity, if disclosed
Not disclosed
Rating of the county's rows
Not disclosed
Published
2026-09-05
Last verified
2026-09-17